Autumn 2011

Latest developments

I was thinking recently how much I would love to have more time to devote to this project. The trouble with being an independent, small scale film maker is that you’re usually balancing your project with various other jobs and commitments, including university in my case. It can mean that there is often not enough time and things end up being reluctantly shelved and taking longer than planned. Sad.

My solution for this was to figure out a way that working on Go Big or Go Home can be incorporated into my MA program. Fortunately I have cooperative tutors, which means I am currently working on the project full-time for the next couple of months instead of doing a formal internship. This is great news at it means I have the time and space and resources available to me to start making real progress.

So! My new plans for the project are this: firstly, I want to make this website more of a resource for the fat performance community and those who love us. I also want there to be a way to include as many performers as possible, as there are so many great ones and it’s not possible for them all to be in the film itself. So I am going to start having an interview section where I interview fat performers about their projects and visions. If you are interested in being interviewed, please get in touch! I eventually want to create an archive project out of this, along with a film. So much has to be edited out when created a film and its a shame to waste the material and people’s contribution. My hope is that this will be a way around this 🙂

Secondly: I’m continuing in my quest to find more fat identified performers in Europe! I know you’re out there 🙂 I really want more european representation in the film and in the rest of the project. Please get in touch if you’re interested or hook me up with folks you think might be interested. Thanks 🙂

Thirdly: third on the list is editing, editing, editing! That’s the biggest, most time-consuming job.

xxx Goldie

 

Leave a Reply

