The Story So Far…

Documentary film making, queer fat femme style!

I visited the states in summer 2010 to attend two conferences and begin interviewing for this film. I was lucky enough to go to both NoLose (the conference for queer women and trans folks and their allies) and also the Femme Conference, which was epic and and amazing experience. Through these two conferences I met many of the people who feature in this film and was able to interview them, see them perform and in some cases was lucky enough to share cocktails and bathtubs with them! As mentioned in the treatment, this project is largely inspired by the late, great Heather Macallister and I’m very grateful to all who shared their memories of her with me, particularly Sossity.

I returned to Berlin with about 15 tapes full of material and have since been struggling with the epic task of putting it all together! I hope to find an experienced editor to work with, but for the time being I’m putting a rough cut together myself.

The project is far from being done yet and I’m still searching out new performers and contributors to create as full a picture as possible 🙂 In the meantime, stay tuned and I welcome all support, suggestions and encouragement.

One response

  1. Julia Kaplan

    Fabulous! Thank you for making, working, probably ddicating everything you’ve got to this! When I win the lottery or fall into big money, you are so on the top of the list! xo

    December 10, 2011 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

